Week one for the Melbourne Marathon: Beginning

The Melbourne Marathon is on this year and I cannot wait to start. It is about 16 weeks until the start of the marathon and I have already done some training in my field for the 21 km race. So far I got up to 7.5kms and I have been doing a beach race.

InstagramCapture_d12f1900-775f-464a-bc07-13e98bd8e85f
image by chiukatherine on Instagram

 

It is winter in Melbourne and it is hard to sleep at night. It is freezing cold. Even then I am training in the freezing cold night around 5-6pm where most people are heading home on their usual train or tram and not even walking. In the last year or two I have been walking lots and going to the gym lots. Most people can’t be bothered and hence they are unhealthy. #motivation.

As for food I try and eat very healthy during the day and leave all the pigging out until after the race. Why you may ask? Is because I sometimes get things known as runners trot due to the fatty fried foods before training. My stomach (and possibly yours) cannot digest these foods fast enough. Running sometimes might leave you out of breath and with indigestion. Oh and give up the alcohol- leave that until after the race day. Alcohol is said to damage your muscles and dehydrate you. Also you cannot function properly during training with alcohol in your system. If you find it really hard to give up on the alcohol altogether just try some small cutbacks each week until you are used to it. If you have to drink one glass make sure that you drink another litre of water before.

InstagramCapture_88b1e504-420b-4927-aa74-5dd74bdd4686
Tea. Image by chiukatherine on Instagram

 

Don’t forget to stay hydrated. As a human you need about 1L per every 25 kgs you weigh. Now I have started this water thingy waaay before the training for my race hence I am used to it. If you are not used to this gradually drink one litre and then add more as you go.  Water helps to get the toxins out of your system. Don’t forget your water bottle. You can buy them from us and we sell 2L bottles.

Stay tuned for week 2 post!

Leave a Reply

