events, malaysian, student clubs

Lets move 365: Mega Raya: volunteering and enjoying ourselves by Akira

Mega Raya was tons of fun this year. There were tons of new dishes to try and the one I tried during my volunteer shift was bee hoon. Bee Hoon is a Malaysian noodle dish with vermicelli and egg and prawn. I was surprised when the volunteers added tomato sauce to it and the dark soya sauce to it. I thought that it was for Migoreng. But I was pleasantly surprised when it turned out well.

I also had to cut chicken wings for the rending and that was bloody hard. Cooking for 700-800 people was also very difficult to do. Cooking chicken in the biggest of woks was the longest as each batch took 32 minutes to cook. Stirring the beef also took the time and effort. In the end the rending turned out to be quite flavourful.

On the Sunday many people came to this event and there was much food to be had there. There was rojak, beef and chicken rending, tomato rice and normal rice, rice cakes and soto ayam. The Soto Ayam was quite nice and there was this Malaysian dessert which I don’t know the name of but it is coconutty and not too sweet. Oh and it has sago.

I think the committee spent well over $1000 on this event. The rice cakes were bought from Malaysia.

New and prospective residents also got a tour of the house.

Almost all the kuih had gone by the time I got there but I managed to try one piece and it was lovely. And a bit sticky.

The tomato rice was lovely and the flavour was quite subtle.

It is a pity that there wasn’t any The Tarik but I sure liked the rose tea.

Many thanks again to Malaysia Hall for letting us volunteer and make new acquaintances on Saturday. Many thanks to them for putting on this event

Leave a Reply

