training, Uncategorized

Week 22 of Marathon training

Another 30 more weeks to go and gosh they will be gruelling as.

Last week people already wrote their training questions on Facebook in the Melbourne Marathon group. Now is the time to be more serious and more focused.

 

I tried the mile repeats straight after lunch. Needless to say I felt very queasy afterwards and was slow. It was between the trees at the park and not on the road. But I am still good at running in the grass. Then I got itchy arms from all that sweat.

InstagramCapture_afa9f539-1d68-493b-ad55-415ac316628f.jpg

I looked at the map again and discovered that the 42 km people go past Kereford st into Dow st in Port Melbourne. This is going to be a bit of a challenge.

Also ran in the wet weather and discovered that I was two minutes slower than the usual pace time of 8mins per km. I did not want to slip and my calcium has not been that good.InstagramCapture_62fe6a4f-40be-4bef-8c8e-a3bd8034783c And then Sunday’s long run was good but I forgot about the Grand Prix. Hence I did not do the kms that I wanted to do. I wanted to do 20 kms but I fell by 6kms. This was a bad thing on my part as I could have planned it a lot better. Thousands of people were at the Grand Prix and at 6pm there were lots of people wanting to get out. Lots of people walked down Clarendon st and lots of people were waiting for the trams at Albert Park.

It was a bad thing on my part for forgetting the water. I was easily thirsty along the way and that slowed me down.

Leave a Reply

