Week 25 of Marathon Training

This week my skin looked bad and I ate too many sweet things in order to increase potassium. That is not good and as a result my skin dried out. I found out that the more potassium we as runners have the better our hydration and skin gets. Also I have quite a bit of acne.

I have sensitive skin and so I try not to use anything with alcohol in it.

The nights are getting colder as we get into winter. It is growing dark by 6:30pm. Tried out the new light this week. It was about $16 and I got this when Kathmandu had their New year sale as I knew that I would need a light in the cooler months. The light is just awesome. I clipped it around my middle and it fell off. When I clipped it a second time, it didn’t come off as I clipped it on my Fitbit around my wrist.  I can see really well with it, but it does need charging once in a while.

WP_20170414_12_46_21_Pro

Ran on my first day of my period and it was not too bad except for the coughing and wheezing from all the iron being lost. Oh and the going slow parts. But in the end though according to myfitnesspal I got about 117% of my daily recommended iron needs. Most days I have been a bit on the low side. Ate a lot of fish that day which really helps too.

Ran again on the third day and it was not too bad but of course I was a bit slower. Need to work on that iron and potassium which is hard for us females. On that day my period was a lot heavier.

Ran some hills on Friday- barely survived the big hills.

The long run was just ok. I ran about 19km on a sunny Sunday around Port Melbourne and St Kilda. It was warm and I had lost a lot of potassium through my period and sweat. I was puffing. Thank god for the cross training on Wednesday or otherwise I would have lost my sanity.

Cross training this week was not too bad but not great yet.

Leave a Reply

