Week 31 of Marathon training

This week felt a little bit somber at the start. My parents and I don’t see eye to eye on the race. I see that doing the race and writing about it earns a fair few brownie points in order of new clothes and an ambassadorship.

This week I applied for Lorna Jane and other running affiliate programs. So far nothing yet. I also applied to win a trip overseas.

I saw the Medibank stall at Melbourne Central and decided to find out whether or not I had enough cover just in case I get injured. It appears that I do. I have their premium cover which includes physio should I need.

Then on Wednesday trained hard and felt good. My first few kms were at 7’12 mins each which was not too bad. Then I felt weak at the knees and the last few miles walked it.

I remembered why I wanted to do this marathon and it is to help those that are doing it tough. The One Umbrella charity outside Flinders st say that they see about 200 people per night and that they are really stretched the bone. Both financially and volunteer wise.  But all the food is donated by the vairous cafes and restaurants in Melbourne.

Rewatching some of the old Harry Potter movies gave me some hope. In my mind I can imagine the cannon starting at each race and I am starting out well.

Then at the gym I worked hard doing lots of rows with my personal trainer and friend.

Sunday’s long run of 23km was slow to begin with and then I picked up at the second half. The first half it was raining so it was a bit slow. Due to just having finished my period and not eating much in the first week I felt like I was out of energy. I started at the MCG where I was collecting money for the Salvos. This was my first shift there but I knew that the tin would be heavy. This is great strength work for me.

I just need to make sure that I eat enough in the first week of my period to have energy to do everything.

Leave a Reply

