Week 33 of marathon training

Have to be used to running in wet clothes and wearing them. The marathon may be wet and windy and its usually not cancelled when it is just that. So I usually wash my clothes the day before and wear them slightly damp. This is so that I can get used to the concept of being uncomfortable and not have chafing come race day.

The short run was good but the gym session was not so. My legs felt heavy and I haven’t been sleeping well. My body hasn’t quite got used to the cold temperature. It is winter in Melbourne  hence the temperatures are between 4-15C.

Winter is the time where all the homeless come out to play. The city streets are filled with such people and such violence at night. I sometimes get scared. This is usually on the popular streets where all the restaurants are.

The Sunday long run was great but I ran out of energy in the middle. I was getting quite hungry by the end. I didn;t have enough money on me or snacks. Went great and got 7.03 minutes per km for the first few kms. And then it went a little bit slower.  I was supposed to do 23 kms but because I had no energy at the end and was hungry,  I only did 21km.

Went past Bridge Road. It was good going up and down all those hills, but Birdge Road seemed a little bit quieter than a usual Sunday full of tourists. Some of the shops are for lease and there are some rennovations going on. But there were a few new restaurants around the area.

Went up Chapel st and it was busy at lunchtime with many of those going to eat at one of the trendy cafes. I went to Prahran market and tried out lots of samples. I wanted to see it for myself.

Then at St Kilda’s Fitzroy st there were a few roving performers as it was the Fitzroy st celebration. Many bars had happy hours at this time.

I also checked out the pier at Kereford st and it was awesome on a day like today. Most people went fishing here

And Runners world was right about taking protein on rest days. I did just that and I felt stronger today. This is one way to make sure that the muscles are recovered from a run.

Leave a Reply

